In order to focus on my writing, I had to let some stuff go.
In order to focus on my writing, I had to let some things go. I had to get rid of old habits and create new ones.

I changed some of the settings on my Facebook account in order to minimize my overwhelming habit of logging in, posting, updating, and constant checking of notifications. But, for some reason, I still found myself frustrated with some of the posts by “friends”, ads, and the “people you may know”.

Honestly, I’m not interested in the day to day happenings in peoples lives. I’m quite sure they could care less about what’s going on in mine as well. I don’t go to social media to purchase shoes, clothing, or even books. Yeah these things are nice to look at. I might even “like” them, but in no way, form, or fashion was I going to pull out my credit card and buy them. And, God forbid, I did not know any of the “friends” suggested to me by the book.

As far as Facebook friends goes, I had over 500. How in the world it got to that number is beyond me. I began deleting people I didn’t know personally. I also deleted my high school and college “friends” that I no longer communicated with. Next came my family and friends. I didn’t want to keep people just because they were related, so I just said “what the hell, I’m deleting everybody”. Yes, I deleted every friend I had except for my daughter. Now it was guaranteed I didn’t have to constantly check and update because no one was in the audience to read just as I had nothing to read.

And then there were the groups that I had joined. Luckily I had already done a purge and I am still active in groups like “Coupon Learning”, “If You Can Stand The Heat You Can Cook In My Kitchen”, and my all time favorite “Mary B. Morrison’s 90 Day Challenge”. The latter has inspired me to get back to what I love most, reading and writing.

So here I am writing with no cares of who may see, like, or share it. This is my space, a place where I can be free with no distractions from ads, statuses, game requests, and pokes. A place where my creativity is not subjective to scrutiny. I welcome all to enjoy my space, and if you just so happen not to see it or like it, I will be cool that too.

